Wage and hour violations take different forms, whether you do not receive overtime pay or your employer refuses to pay back wages. It is also important to familiarize yourself with minimum wage laws in California and promptly address any violations of your rights as an employee.
In addition, some workers do not realize that the minimum wage varies from one county to the next in California.
California’s minimum wage law
The Department of Industrial Relations reports that in California, the minimum wage for employers who have at least 26 employees is $15 per hour, while employers with 25 or fewer employees must pay no less than $14 per hour. Depending on the city or county you live in, minimum wage might go even higher.
Exceptions aside, state law requires employers to provide employees with compensation that is no less than the minimum wage. Moreover, minimum wage increases on an annual basis. In 2023, California’s minimum wage (at the state level) will increase to $15.50 per hour.
Looking at minimum wage violations
Minimum wage violations occur in different ways. Sometimes, employers take advantage of young workers, or those who recently moved to the U.S. Some workers find themselves in unique employment arrangements, and employers trick them into accepting compensation below the minimum wage. Sadly, some workers face retaliation after standing up for their rights due to minimum wage violations and other employment law matters.
If you believe that your employer has failed to pay you minimum wage in accordance with the law, or you have experienced any other violations of your rights, do not stay silent.