You enjoy your work in California, but you suspect that your employer engages in wage theft. Do you know the many ways in which companies sneakily siphon employee wages?
GOBankingRates offers insights into common wage-theft methods. Determine whether you may have a wage claim against your company.
Not paying mandated overtime
Do you work overtime? If so, always double-check your paycheck to see if your employer compensated you properly. California’s overtime laws are unique in that employees who work over eight hours a day receive time-and-a-half pay. If you work over 12 hours a day, you receive double pay.
Wrongful deductions for breaks and meals
It is illegal for companies to not give employees meal breaks and standard breaks during a shift. Even if you take breaks, your employer cannot deduct your meal or break time from your pay. Not only does refusing to give workers breaks qualify as wage theft, but it may also become a minimum wage violation.
Misclassifying workers as managers
Does your company classify you as a manager even though you do not have a manager’s job duties? This may be to keep from paying you a fair wage. Managers do not qualify for overtime because they receive a salary rather than an hourly wage.
Improperly compensating tipped employees
If you receive wages and tips, you qualify for different minimum wage mandates. Because of the complexity of the mandates, many tipped employers do not bother putting in the work to determine if their employer cheats them out of wages. For instance, while federal law mandates that tipped workers may receive an hourly wage as low as $2.13 as long as tips received raise that amount to minimum wage, employers must pay the difference when tips do not level out pay to minimum wage.